poetry, Writing

Man

Fathers teach their sons to play catch,

As I will, to my son.

Fathers teach their sons to shave. 

As I will, to my son. 

Fathers teach their sons how to be men. 

As I will, to my son. 

I did not learn these things from my father. 

Instead, my friends and their fathers. 

My single mother, who exhausted could only teach what she could. 

After all she didn’t know what it meant to be a man. 

I learned how to work and provide from the military. 

For that I’m thankful. 

I still learned valuable lessons from my father though. 

How not to be a man. 

2 thoughts on “Man

Leave a Reply

