poetry

The Longest Wait

I sat waiting,
Days on end.
I was nervous I could not pretend.
Paitently walking,
Around the room and down the halls,
Back and forth to get some food.
Stuffing my face.

Full of well priced meals and cheap treats.
I was eating at an unstoppable pace.
Almost like it was a race.

I thought I was patient and walking calmly,
I’m sure I was marching around,
Like a tired, nervous wreck
Who had not slept.

With way too much on my mind.

But I guess many people here stumble around,
With that same glassed over look.
Information goes in one ear and out the other.

Yes, surely this building is full of people,
Experiencing the same feeling if not worse.
No surely worse.

For me a little worry but everything will be alright.

One day turned to two
Two to three
One more day will surely undo me.

Those people,
They came in every hour.
Trying new things,
Always taking the time to explain to me.

Finally on day four,
They said to me,
Come quick, come quick!

Really come and see.

I rush over from the couch in the corner.
The couch that I made into my bed,
My little entertainment center.
To pass the time,
The slow creeping time.
The time that you do not realize how much you have.
Until you are not working, or going to school.
But, just waiting…

Sitting.

Its coming its coming,
Help out ,
Grab a leg and help her push.
Inducing labor can take days!

But,

This is truly the final push.

20 minutes later,
They pull the baby out.
ITS A BOY!
They shout.

Cheers all about.

3 thoughts on “The Longest Wait

Leave a Reply

